Improv: The Art of Channeling Creative Energy

Music has been something that’s been a part of me since the day I was born. It’s always come very natural to me. Having the ability to just pick up any instrument and play it is pretty cool and it’s been something I thought everyone could do until I realized it wasn’t. I never really thought of it as a gift as much as I see it as a means to communicate how I’m feeling. For me, it’s sometimes the only way I can really express myself or let go of unwanted feelings. Music really is the best medicine for me. Like Bruce Dickinson (a/k/a Christopher Walker) said on SNL, “I have a fever and the only prescription is more cowbell), that is how I feel about music in it’s entirety. Not just cowbell, but all of it. I simply need more. For me, there has been a lot of self discovery through music. Most of the time it can be an out of body experience. I like to channel that creative energy and turn it into something amazing.

Last year, I decided to do a project where I recorded music that was all improvised. I gave myself 15 minutes total to record each part in one take. This is the result:

Strong Man

This song was inspired by listening to a lot of Iggy and the Stooges and PJ Harvey. I was thinking about what it would be like if they were to collaborate. I decided to take it on. Again, I just picked up the guitar and played whatever came to mind in one take. Same with the bass. I basically just made the lyrics up as I went, like with pretty much every improv project I do. That’s what makes it improv, right?

What Would You Do If I Told You I Loved You?

At this time, I had been seeing someone for about 4 months and the dynamics of our relationship were starting to change. I was feeling a lot of unsure feelings, mixed with complete joy and love. I sat down at my piano, pressed record on the voice memo on my phone and just let out my feelings organically.

Leave a comment